Just a day

My body is tired, it feels the bite of years, no, not so much years as miles. But still it goes on. As I approach my fifth decade I find myself looking back more, always a bad idea. I look at the decisions I have made and shake my head. I wonder what I would say to the younger me if I should ever meet myself in some time-space continuum. Probably something like “you dumb ass, quit whining and open your eyes!” would I listen to myself? dunno, probably not. Maybe just as well? Dunno that either. In the end all is as it should be, if the old scribes are to be believed. I have never known hunger, homelessness, or any real want for the basics and have enjoyed here and there some finer things. So perhaps I have not done so badly. Inner peace has always eluded me however, but that’s a song for another time. In spite of myself and all the other forces of both good and evil, it looks like I shall live to see another day. A day closer to fair weather, (its snowing now) and the most prolific film usage season. Speaking of film, these cameras are starting to pile up everywhere……. how does this happen?…..oh, wait, Ebay. (sigh) I am a sucker for cheap cameras. Anyway, the best woman I have known in my life (and there have been a few women, including my ex wife) just served up supper, voluntarily! Maybe life isn’t so bad, for the moment anyway. Until next time, when in doubt, use the acceptance passage (pg 449 in the old Big Book) and wear a helmet, life is tough. S

Leave a comment